The “infamous” bone broth

If you read anything up on Paleo lifestyle, you’d know bone broth is ALL the rage.  More on that in a bit…

This morning for breakfast/lunch I had my usual!! I was so excited about my dang corn tortillas.  It take so little with me! Drew is on his way back from TX and I cant wait to have REAL corn torts!

Image

Back to bone broth.  First I hate the term.  It’s broth! But it has really great health benefits.  Broth is the green juice of the “paleo” world.  Here are some of the benefits:

  • greatly improves gut health (MAIN reason I made some)
  • fights cold/flu
  • reduces joint inflammation
  • benefits hair, nails and skin
  • good for bone health
  • fights inflammation

So I put

  1. chicken feet (WHO am i using chicken feet?! but it is for the gelatin)
  2. carrots
  3. celery
  4. chopped onion
  5. fresh thyme
  6. white pepper corns
  7. lots of filtered water

I threw that in a big pot and placed the organic chicken on top.   Simmered for just over an hour

ImageImage

I pulled the chicken out, shredded the meat and roasted the bones in a 400 oven for about 30 min.  Roasting always adds more flavor

ImageSo the bones are now BACK in the broth and this bad boy is going to simmer for a full 24 hrs!  I’ll use it to make a good soup but also warm a cup up in the morning before breakfast.

I of course read recipes..everyone has their own tricks and tips but I didn’t pick one and follow it. I figured it’s CHICKEN BROTH.  As long as good flavor goes in, it’s going to be good, right?  Hopefully tomorrow this turns out well!

One thought on “The “infamous” bone broth

Leave a Reply

