Tis the season…

My Anti Inflammation diet book started me on a path of much healthier eating.  The book suggests a mostly plant based diet w/ some lean meats.  I then watched this documentary on Netflix and got Alicia Silverstones book on my IPad

ImageImage

I’ve eaten vegetarian in the past and have vowed to never give up dairy.  BUT the past 10 days or so I’ve been eliminating it out of my diet and trying to ONLY eat plant based.  These 2 sources talk about the ethical side of eating meat/dairy daily…but they also include a lot of hard facts about how it effects health.  I’ve only always cared how it effects health but these changed my mind.  Drew thinks i’m nuts but it is what it is.

Breakfast is always whole grain toast w/ an egg

ImageImage

Lunch is always salad w/ my favorite “fake” chicken substitute

ImageImage

Still having daily juice..sometimes home made sometimes pre made from Whole foods or Trader Joes

Image

Dinner has been roasted veggies or a frozen meal…frozen meals are easy cause they are pre portioned and clearly labeled as being vegan.

I’m excited about this change.  Eggs and butter are the dairy thats holding me back…i dont do milk and I’ve cut out the cheese already.  There is vegan butter and I’ll just have to change around my breakfast routine.

Here’s to MUCH better health in 2013.  I’m so ready for this year to be over and excited about what is to come

2 thoughts on “Tis the season…

  1. Natalie says:

    Jen, I drink Almond milk. It’s really good w/o the dairy. I like the unsweetened vanilla for shakes, and then i use the unsweetened plain for things like meals and would work in your eggs.

    I have trouble with dairy too. I eat Greek yogurt or cottage cheese daily….

Leave a Reply

