Zucchini Lasagna

Image

Eating low carb/gluten free has been  A LOT of cooking.  It has been time consuming but fun since I have nothing else to do. 🙂 Today we made lasagna that used zucchini “noodles” instead of pasta.  The recipe is off of SkinnyTaste

First you have to cut the zucchini in thin slices using a mandolin, lightly cover with salt & olive oil and grill on a hot skillet

ImageImage

I made a meat sauce using the lowest carb jarred sauce I found and for the cheese mixture I used ricotta, fresh basil, fresh garlic, salt, pepper and 1 egg

Image

Then it’s time to layer.  Put a little sauce in the bottom of the pan, then a layer of the zucchini.  Top with the ricotta mixture & a dusting of grated parm.  Repeat the layer of zuc & cheese then finish with more zuc, meat sauce & mozz cheese

ImageImage

Image

Bake at 375 for about 30 min.  It was really good just a bit time consuming, but worth it.  All the comfort of lasagna without the guilt and bloat.

In other news, I’ve applied for 2 part time jobs. 1 at a famous bakery here and 1 at Whole Foods.  I hope I get something…would be fun and I could spend my $ on going to more Broadway shows 🙂  Drew and I are going into the city tomorrow.  We are going to the 9/11 museum..he gets us a VIP back tour.  Excited about that and seeing the tree.

One thought on “Zucchini Lasagna

Leave a Reply

