A Tale of 2 Pizzas

Man we have been eating poorly lately.  I guess we can blame sickness and the upcoming holidays.  It’s that time of year…  Our grocery store sells fresh pizza dough and it’s been staring me down for awhile now.  I bought us a nice pizza pan from Crate & Barrel and we decided to experiment today.  Drew and I have 2 very different taste in pizza so we made 2.

Drew’s Pizza…typical man meat lover

Image

He used pepperoni, bacon, jack cheese, mozzarella, and jalapenos

ImageImage

ImageImage

Then we made my pizza..the ultimate white pizza.

Image

 I mixed fresh ricotta w/ olive oil, fresh basil, 4 cloves of chopped garlic, oregano, salt & pepper and let that marinate for a few hours.  I used that as the “sauce” for the pizza and topped it with fresh mozzarella, prosciutto and spinach

ImageImage

ImageImage

Image

Mine was the winner…by far! 🙂 The dough was really really good.  Everything our grocery store bakery makes is fantastic.  I’m getting so spoiled up here.  Now that the really fattening pizzas are out of our system we plan on making healthy pizzas in the future.  The bakery also has whole wheat dough so we’ll use that from now on.

In other news I got into Yelp Elite for ’13!!! That’s so exciting to me.  Elite get invited to lots of little get togethers.  Will be fun to socialize up here.  Meet some people and find some great spots in the area.

One thought on “A Tale of 2 Pizzas

Leave a Reply

