Adventures in cooking

Since moving here I want to cook more Italian…real Italian not the easy lasagna made with cream cheese & cottage cheese w/ jarred sauce.  Today I tried out risotto.  I love risotto and have always wanted to try it but everyone talks about how impossible it is to make.  My neighbor gave me a few tips and we were fully prepared to order take out because I was sure it wouldn’t work on the first try.  BUT IT WAS AMAZING!

Butternut squash risotto

Image

1st you have to roast the squash and get all the ingredients ready so it goes smoothly

  • finely chopped onion
  • 5 cloves of fresh garlic mincend
  • parm cheese
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 1 cup of white wine
  • 1 1/2 cup abborio rice
  • 6 cups of simmering chicken stock

ImageImage

Sautee the onion in olive oil till it’s tender, then add in the rice & garlic.  Lightly toast the rice

ImageImage

Add the wine and 1 cup of the hot broth at a time.  STIR like crazy and as the rice absorbs the liquid add another cup of the broth, 1 TB of butter and 1TB of parm cheese.  Repeat this 5-6 times till rice is cooked.  Add butternut squash at the end.  We also threw in some chicken

ImageImage

it was some of the best risotto I’ve had. AMAZING.  But I needed Drew to help stir because it gets really tiring.  I dont see how restaurants make this for the masses.

It was also delivery day.  Got a huge box from Crate & Barrel (thanks mom) filled with cooking gadgets and cute Christmas pillows for our couch.  Also got my Uggs in! Now I’m ready for the next snowy day

ImageImage

2 thoughts on “Adventures in cooking

  1. Jana Cast says:

    Doesn’t it take almost an hour for the rice to absorb all the liquid? Amazing. I’m embarrassed because I thought you made gnocchi too! 🙂 Silly me! Praying for you to be healed by Monday….love the pillows…..

  2. husband says:

    The risotto was amazing but a pain in the but to make. It did take close to an hour for rice to absorb all the chicken stock we used. It was worth it though. Restaurant quality on our first time making it.

Leave a Reply

